The Timeline of Fin Trade Laws




2010 Marked the beginning of a change

Hawaii was the first State to enact a shark fin trade ban in 2010, thanks to State Senator Clayton Hee. This law became model legislation for 12 other U.S. States and many Pacific Island Nations. 

U.S. States that passed Fin Trade laws since 2010  

  • Hawaii

  • California

  • Washigton

  • Oregon

  • Illinois

  • New York

  • Massachusetts

  • Maryland

  • Rhode Island

  • Delaware

  • Texas

  • Nevada

Pacific Island Nations and U.S. Territories

*Some implemented fin trade laws, but most of them incorporated fin bans within Shark Sanctuary declarations or other Marine Act.

  • Palau

  • Guam

  • Cnmi

  • Rmi

  • Fsm

  • Cook Islands

  • French Polynesia

  • Tokelau

  • Niue

  • New Caledonia

  • Samoa

  • American Samoa


Shark Fin Trade Elimination Act of 2018 House Bill: H.R. 737:

 We have made progress, but the battle continues

Along with the success, the opposition to fin bans has also grown. As one State shuts down, the trade tends to move to the next. This is not a reason to give up. It simply means we have to persist. It is crucial that we do not let off the pressure and continue to block the trade in the key coastal US States as well as on a national level.

Stefanie Brendl